What happens to your Facebook account after you die?



Let us answer a million-dollar question today: what happens to your Facebook account after you die? Well, all of us are mostly on Facebook and it is also a fact that we all, some or the other day, will die.

On this note, we must tell you that Facebook offers an option to delete your account once you die. That’s right. You get the option in the Settings menu of your Facebook profile. Once the account is deleted, all your photos and other details are also removed from the server. Basically, a complete deletion of your existence from Facebook. Notably, not just Facebook, but Google also provides an option to delete all your saved data such as photos, and other details from its server once you die.

As for Facebook, there are two ways to go about with it. One, you can choose a legacy contact who can manage the account after your death. Second, you can simply set your account settings to permanent deletion after death. We will explain who both ways work and what you should do.

How to set a legacy contact on Facebook

So, once you die, Facebook lets one of your trusted contact to manage your account. The same contact can inform Facebook about you passing away and the social media giant will delete all your save data of its server on request. For this, you will need to chose that legacy contact right away. To do that:

-Login to your Facebook account with username and password

-Click on the drop down menu on the extreme left corner

-Head to the Settings tab

-Click on the Account option there

-You will get to see “Memorialization Settings” option there. This will let you choose your legacy contact, in simple words, the person who can manage your Facebook account once you die.

-Enter the contact’s name and click on add option.

-Facebook will then send a message to the select contact that states, “Hi XYZ, Facebook now lets people choose a legacy contact to manage their account if something happens to them: https://www.facebook.com/help/1568013990080948. Since you know me well and I trust you, I chose you. Please let me know if you want to talk about this.”

It should be noted that you can only add one trusted Facebook user as a legacy contact. That’s right, the person you choose as legacy contact should have a Facebook account…Read more>>

Source:-bgr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Register Form

Name
Email Address
Phone No