How to Keep Your Venmo Account Private and Secure [Updated]



Venmo is convenient, but the app comes with privacy risks if it’s not properly set up. Thankfully, Venmo is rolling out a new design for its mobile app that should make using the app less of a privacy concern.

The most notable change is to the notorious Global Feed: Venmo axed it completely. That’s right—you will no longer see a long list of random transactions between strangers when you open the app. There’s still a “social” feed that lists all recent public transactions your friends make, but that’s less intrusive than the global feed.

The loss of the global feed is a win for privacy-minded users, but there are still other issues the redesign doesn’t address.

For example, the new app still automatically links to your Facebook and phone contacts. And users can still search for and view other Venmo profiles, even if they’re not on each other’s friends list. If someone looks you up, they’ll see all your friends and past public transaction history. Even President Biden isn’t immune.

Having your information public makes it easy for scammers, thieves, and other unsavory sorts to target you, but you can easily avoid (most) unwanted attention by turning on Venmo’s strongest privacy settings.

  1. Open the app, and tap the three-line menu icon in the upper right.
  2. Select Settings > Privacy, and set your default privacy setting to “Private.” This makes all future transactions private between you and the other person unless you change the setting manually during the exchange.
  3. Next, tap “Past Transactions” and select “Change All to Private.” The “Change to Friends” option is better than leaving past transactions publicly viewable, but changing them all to private is safest.
  4. Next, go to Settings > Friends & social.
  5. Disable any auto-friending options you don’t want to use. You can also disable your Facebook account connection.

Remove and block contacts in Venmo

While turning your profile, friends list, and transaction history private will help prevent people you don’t know from looking you up or contacting you, it won’t do much to stop unwanted attention from users on your Venmo friends list. Luckily, you can quickly remove someone from your friends list:

  1. Go to your contact’s Venmo profile.
  2. Select “Friends” then tap “Unfriend.”

If the person keeps contacting you, or some random user keeps spamming you, you can block the person in the Venmo app. Blocked users are unable to find you in search results, see you in their feed, or request money from you. Here’s how:

  1. Go to the user’s profile page in the Venmo app.
  2. Tap the “…” icon in the upper right.
  3. Select “Block.”
  4. Close and restart the app for the block to take effect.
  5. You can view blocked accounts (or unblock them) in your block list under Settings > Block Users.

How to change your profile information on Venmo

If you really want to go anonymous, you can change your profile information—like name, account user name, and contact email—under Settings > Edit profile. You can also update your phone number under Settings > Change Phone Number. Just note that these changes will make it harder for friends and family to find you, too…Read more>>

Source:-lifehacker

Register Form

Name
Email Address
Phone No